Never Ending Internet Mix Tape

a musical exquisite corpse. look it up.

The Neverending Roads / Vol 12 / 013113

Mr. Smigielski came to me in the winter of 2010 with an idea to build a mix with multiple participants, pushing and pulling against each other’s diverse tastes and interests to create an audial document in real time. How could I not be excited? It was a challenge that I’d never seen before. So we started, with no idea where it would go. With our friend Epp, we moved through volume after volume, and picked up Mssrs. Klops and Woodford along the way. We saw our number of followers build and our traffic increase. We even had an app made.

The mix took a lot of twists and turns, and perhaps inadvertently reflected life itself. In the last few months, one of us moved to London; one of us moved to Chicago; one of us turned in his notice that he would be leaving the mix; some of us found our relationships to music changing; and all of us found ourselves insanely busy with careers, lives, and other priorities. When we stopped to take stock of everything, we came to the conclusion that the end of this volume was the right time to put the Neverending Mix on hold for the foreseeable future.

I can speak for all of us when I say that it’s been an incredible experience working on this project. We hope the NEIMT introduced you to a new band or song, made a new connection to something you already loved, or got you to make your own mixes. We hope it changed, even just a tiny bit, the way you interact with music. It did all of those for us. We might be back someday, maybe in a different form or with new writers, but we’ll always be out there devouring music, thrilled by its possibilities, curious about the neverending roads it will take us on. We’ll see you out there.

m. joosse

Download the Mix as a 116 MB zip file.
Now using sendspace to deliver these massive files. Email us if the file expires.

The tracklist is as follows:

01. Sitting Still, Talking About Jets by the Detachment Kit
02. Odessa by Animals as Leaders
03. Screams of Joy by Lungfish
04. I Built Myself a Metal Bird by Silver Mt. Zion
05. How Near How Far by …And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead
06. Out of My Mind by Dope Body
07. Silencer by mewithoutYou
08. List of Demands (Reparations) by Saul Williams
09. Kung Fu by the Dirtbombs
10. Little Bit of Feel Good by Jamie Lidell
11. Free by Graffiti6
12. Good Music by Colorama
13. Believe E.S.P. by Deerhoof
14. Long Flight by Future Islands
15. Blinders by Geographer


Filed under: Mixtape, NEIMT, Vol 12

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Join 36 other followers

The Authors

NEIMT Archives

%d bloggers like this: