Never Ending Internet Mix Tape

a musical exquisite corpse. look it up.

Vol 11 / Trk 14 / Mountains / Sparklehorse


Mountains is a beautifully choreographed dichotomy between Dangermouse and the late Mark Linkous. It was penned under the stage name Sparklehorse, wherein Linkous was the singer, multi-instrumentalist, and mastermind.

Speaking of dichotomy, it strikes me that the vocals of this track hide behind a thin film of white noise, while the heavy, industrialized guitar emits a weary squall consistently and thoroughly over top. Though lo- and hi-fi are constantly at odds, this track eloquently blends them into a seductive, narcotic, almost sleepy patter. It begs me to consider my heavy heart, if only for a moment.

It’s going to be alright.

Dichotomy aside, I admire the outro as thoroughly as the rest. A smattering of electronic blips and bleeps to remind you of the other life Linkous led, which is subtly present herein—electronic, ambient, and celestial.

If you haven’t heard the album from which I plucked it, Dreamt for Light Years in the Belly of a Mountain, I strongly encourage you to—tonight. It is simple, yet brilliant. You won’t regret bringing it into your Saturday night.

t. woodford

Filed under: Mixtape, NEIMT, Vol 11,

2 Responses

  1. Mike Joosse says:

    In the ’90s, Mark Linkous lived outside of Richmond, about 20 minutes from me in the next town over. He bought a farm on the James River behind this big subdivision called River’s Bend. I always wondered if we’d crossed paths and I never knew it, like at our movie theater or at Lowe’s or something. Especially every time “Someday I Will Treat You Good” came on the radio. Which, in those days, was often.

  2. That’s interesting. I met him in 2006 at a small concert in Tempe. He was selling merch, and was incredibly honest and down-to-earth. I know the context is much different, but I imagine if you’d have seen him at the grocery store, he’d have been happy to meet you.

Leave a comment

Join 36 other subscribers

The Authors

NEIMT Archives